Windows 11 finally lets you opt out of OneDrive during setup instead of just reminding you in three days

Windows 11 finally lets you opt out of OneDrive during setup instead of just reminding you in three days

Published Aug 30, 2026, 11:03 PM EDT Simon is a Computer Science BSc graduate who has been writing about technology since 2014, and using Windows machines since 3.1. After working for an indie game studio and acting as the family's go-to technician for all computer issues, he found his passion for writing and decided to use his skill set to write about all things tech. Since beginning his writing career, he has written for many different publications such as WorldStart, Listverse, and MakeTechEasier. However, after finding his home at MakeUseOf in February 2019, he would eventually move on to its sister site, XDA, to bring the latest and greatest in Windows, Linux, and DIY electronics. Sign in to your XDA account Summary Windows 11 OOBE now lets you directly opt out of OneDrive backup instead of deferring. Ends a long-standing dark pattern of only offering "Remind me in 3 days" to avoid a "No." Looks like a win for user control — part of Windows' shift toward a clearer, less coercive setup. There's a funny image that makes its rounds on the internet. It shows someone who had set up a poll titled "Do you think Microsoft understands what consent is?" with the available poll options being "Yes" and "Remind me in 3 days." In recent years, Microsoft's services have had a hard time letting you say "No," but that's seemingly changing. Someone has reported that the out-of-box experience (OOBE) for Windows 11 will now let you decline setting up OneDrive instead of simply delaying it. Windows 11's OOBE is reportedly letting you say no to OneDrive It doesn't sound exciting on paper, but it's actually a pretty big change The news comes to us from Mayank Parmar on Windows Latest, who noticed something strange during the Windows 11 OOBE setup. Microsoft uses the OOBE to give new users a miniature tour of the services included with Windows 11, complete with lots of opportunities to sign up for paid plans. If you didn't want a service, Microsoft let you continue without setting it up, but your only option was to click a button that said: "Remind me in 3 days." There was no way to tell it you were just not interested. However, during this new setup process, Parmar noticed that the "Remind me in 3 days" button now says "Opt out of backup." No delays, no "Skip for now" button, just a flat-out refusal. It may sound minor, but Microsoft has had a big problem with taking no for an answer in recent years, to the point where people openly accuse it of being malicious design. With the company seemingly walking this back, it may be another part of the Windows K2 initiative, giving the user control over what they do and don't want.

Original Source

Read the full article at Xda-developers →

KhanList aggregates and links to publicly available news content. We do not host full articles from third-party sources. Always verify important information with original sources.